Counseling & Guidance Services





Supervisor
TBD

Secretary
Briana Echols
Contact Info:
(315) 435-4131
Mailing Address
Attn: Counseling and Guidance
1025 Erie Blvd. West
Syracuse, NY 13204
Physical Address
Central Office
725 Harrison Street
Syracuse, NY 13210

Our Mission and Vision

  • To provide every student the opportunity to become a lifelong learner by fostering and supporting a balanced approach to the development of academic, social, emotional and physical health.
  • To nurture respect and understanding for self and all people
  • To promote responsible citizenship in a society, community, culture and in the world
  • To be career and college ready to pursue individual goals

School Counseling and Guidance

The American School Counseling Association (ASCA) along with the New York State School Counseling Association (NYSSCA) affirms that school counseling is an integral part of the overall educational experience. Syracuse City School District’s school counselors are committed to providing all students with a comprehensive school counseling program which systematically addresses the three areas of academic, career, and personal/social development. It is our belief that in doing so, we assist students in exploring, planning, and realizing their individual interests, abilities, and goals, thus helping them to reach their full potential as productive members of society.

Click here to view the New York State Diploma Requirements!

Classes of 2022 and 2023: Register for BigFuture Days College Fairs

The College Board is hosting four virtual college fairs that are designed for you to have real conversations with hundreds of colleges, admission reps, and current college students without leaving home. 

You can sign up to attend any event and more than one to explore colleges in each region across the nation.

  • BigFuture Day West + SouthWest, Saturday, February 6, 2021, 4–8 p.m. ET, 1–5 p.m. PT
    For colleges located in AK, AZ, CA, CO, HI, ID, MT, NM, NV, OK, OR, TX, UT, WA, and WY.
  • BigFuture Day Southeast, Tuesday, February 23, 2021, 5–9 p.m. ET, 2–6 p.m. PT
    For colleges located in AL, AR, DC, DE, FL, GA, LA, MD, MS, NC, SC, TN, VA, and WV.
  • BigFuture Day Northeast, Sunday, March 7, 2021, 4–8 p.m. ET, 1–5 p.m. PT
    For colleges located in CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, and VT.
  • BigFuture Day Midwest, Thursday, March 11, 2021, 5–9 p.m. ET, 2–6 p.m. PT
    For colleges located in IA, IL, IN, KS, KY, MI, MN, MO, ND, NE, OH, SD, and WI.

Register today at cb.org/bigfuturedays

 

School Counselor Listing 2021-2022

Name School Email
Giannino,  Megan Bellevue Elem K-5 mgiannino@scsd.us
Quilty-Koval, Jacob Brighton Academy 6-8 jquilty-koval@scsd.us
McElroy, Carrie Brighton Academy 6-8 Cmcelroy@scsd.us
Royal, Thomas Clary MS 6-8 TRoyal@scsd.us
Boyce, Drisa Corcoran HS Dboyce@scsd.us
Dunn, Julie Corcoran HS JDunn@scsd.us
Lara, Kimberly Corcoran HS Klara@scsd.us
Anderson, Mariel Corcoran HS manderson2@scsd.us
Leflore, Ciera (Virtual) Corcoran HS cleflore@scsd.us
Marrin, Heather Corcoran HS HMarrin@scsd.us
Holness, Carlene Delaware Primary K-5 cholness@scsd.us
Burkett, Rebecca Dr. Weeks K-8 rburkett@scsd.us
O'Leary, John Edward Smith K-8 JOLeary2@scsd.us
Cilano, Cameron Edward Smith K-8 Ccilano@scsd.us
Gibbs-Griffith, Brian ELMS 6-8 BGriffith@scsd.us
Buda, Brian Elmwood (Transition Coach) Bbuda@scsd.us
Mason, Jillian Elmwood (Transition Coach) jmason8@scsd.us
Sturgeon, Sue Elmwood (Transition Coach) SSurgeon@scsd.us
Teasdale-Edwards, Katherine Elmwood (Transition Coach) KTeasdale-Edwards@scsd.us
Hirata, Haruka Franklin K-5 Hhirata@scsd.us
Riley, Andrea Frazer K-8 ARiley@scsd.us
Hanley, Christine Frazer K-8 chanley@scsd.us
Coates, James Grant MS 6-8 JCoates@scsd.us
Herndon, Dominquie Grant MS 6-8 Dherndon@scsd.us
TBD H.W. Smith K-8  
TBD H.W. Smith K-8  
Delia, Michelle Henninger HS MDelia@scsd.us
Hilton, Jamie Henninger HS jdays@scsd.us
Drazek, Leah Henninger HS ldrazek@scsd.us
Mallory, Robert Henninger HS RMallory@scsd.us
Hitzfield, Jason Henninger HS Jhitzfied@scsd.us
Rowser-Davis, Tamara Henninger HS trowser-davis@scsd.us
Mackins, Shirley HSE SMackins@scsd.us
Garner, Holly Huntington K-8 Hgarner@scsd.us
Leonardo, Andrew Huntington K-8 ALeonardo@scsd.us
Santiago, Natasha Institute of Technology NSantiago@scsd.us
Snyder, Stacey Institute of Technology SSnyder@scsd.us
Berrian, Jordan Lemoyne Elementary K-5 Jberrian@scsd.us
Gower, Dan Lincoln MS 6-8 DGower@scsd.us
Abdo, Lauryn Lincoln MS 6-8 Labdo@scsd.us
Bartelli, Catherine McKinley Brighton K-5 Cbartelli@scsd.us
Daige, Tracy Nottingham HS TDaige@scsd.us
Gaugler, Kristin Nottingham HS KGaugler@scsd.us
Mason, Mark Nottingham HS MMason2@scsd.us
Espinosa, Jeanette Nottingham HS Espinosa@scsd.us
Rubadeau, Tia Nottingham HS TRubadeau@scsd.us
Bradbury, Todd Oasis Academy K-8 TBradbury@scsd.us
Bergamo, Michelle PFLA Mbergamo@scsd.us
Jackson, Kaitlyn Porter K-5 Kjackson@scsd.us
Burke, Marrietta PSLA @ Fowler HS MBurke@scsd.us
Casamento, Nicole PSLA @ Fowler HS NCasamento@scsd.us
Isham, Shannon PSLA @ Fowler HS sisham@scsd.us
Pelligra, Christopher PSLA @ Fowler HS CPelligra@scsd.us
Griffin, Julie Roberts K-8 JGriffin@scsd.us
Mendoza, Marta Seymour K-5 Mmendoza@scsd.us
Mack, Yvonne STEAM @ King K-5 YMack@scsd.us
Zavaglia, Evangelia Syracuse Latin K-8 EZavaglia@scsd.us
Walker, Michelle Syracuse STEM @ Blodgett 6-8 Mwalker@scsd.us
 
 
Links

Financial Aid & Scholarships for Online Students
Financial Aid & Scholarships for Women
Financial Aid for Minorities
First Generation College Resources Guide
High School Career Plan
Naviance
Say Yes to Education Syracuse
Student Records Request Form

Counseling Resources

Course Catalog
Comprehensive School Counseling Plan
FAFSA-What to Bring Checklist
SCSD Essential Counseling Services