Syracuse Aspiring Leadership Academy Helps Staff Develop Leadership Skills

     Published on 11/16/15   Tagged under:    District News   

First year vice principals, administrative interns and central office staff—as well as several teachers—are taking part in a yearlong leadership development program called the Syracuse Aspiring Leadership Academy (SALA).
Once a month, the 27 SALA participants gather at the SCSD Professional Development Center on a Saturday for a day of discussion, data analysis, project work and more. This year, the group is focusing on personal leadership strengths and growth areas, growing as a leader and measuring personal growth and reading a diverse array of practical leadership research, then applying the research to the Syracuse community while solving problems along the way.
The SALA Class of 2016 includes:
Sharon Archer (MCL, Grant MS), Sophia Burden (Teacher, Syracuse Latin), Renee Burgess (VP, McKinley-Brighton Elementary), Emily Buss (Special Education Specialist), Kevin Casavant (Special Education Specialist), Deanna Daniel (Administrative Intern, Roberts PK-8), Joseph Dhara (Math Coach, Danforth MS), Chaz-Lit Doyle (Teacher, Webster Elementary), Sarah Gentile (Supervisor of Fine Arts), Francine Grannell (Assistant Director of Special Education), Jennifer Homeyer-DeBoover (Special Education Administrative Intern), Tracy Jackson (Supervisor of Guidance), Lakisha Jones (Interim VP, Delaware Academy), Greg Lawson (MCL, Grant MS), Christina Louis (Administrative Intern, Ed Smith PK-8), Shirley Mackins (Guidance Counselor, Lincoln MS), Laura Mitchell (Administrative Intern, Franklin Elementary), Kathryne Moulton (VP, Clary MS), Irastina Reid (Special Education Administrative Intern), Richard Richardson (VP, Clary MS), Dennis Robillard (OSA Analyst), A. Najah Salaam Jennings-Bey (VP, Dr. King Elementary), Amanda Shepherd (VP, HW Smith PK-8), Bohdanna Snihur (Dean of Students, HW Smith PK-8), Ray Stazzone (OSA Coordinator), Joe Sterbank (Math Coach, Grant MS), Naomi Trivison (Literacy Coach, Westside Academy), Katelynn Tymczyszyn (VP, Frazer PK-8) and Karen Williams (Assistant Director of Special Education).
Good luck to all of this year’s participants!